Compare Insurance Rates & Save

Michigan Insurance (MI)

The state of Michigan has the most wide-ranging no-fault auto insurance structure in the United States. If you have your vehicle insured in Michigan, you and your family will have access to unlimited medical and rehabilitation repayments, wage loss benefits, as also $20 per day for substitution services for up to three years in case you are injured in an auto accident, notwithstanding fault. This guaranteed security is one of the key reasons to buy insurance.

Apart from the security that insurance provides to you and your family, Michigan law warrants no-fault insurance. Every registered vehicle has to be insured. If you own a car and you drive it, or permit someone else to drive it without essential no-fault insurance, you run the risk of being sued and held personally liable. If found guilty, you may even be convicted of an offense and fined to the tune of $200 to $500, or put behind the bar for up to one year, or both. The court may also put the verdict making your license suspended for 30 days or until you are able to make available such testimony. Apart from these, if you are uninsured you may court further trouble in the form of being held liable for all damages resultant of an accident while uninsured, including your own.

Michigan's auto insurance is synchronized by state law on a competitive basis. What this means to you is that rates cannot be regarded too high so long the companies are in competition.

Michigan Car Insurance Requirements

Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage
$20,000 per person injured in any one accident and $40,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Minimum Property Damage Coverage
$10,000 for injury to or damage of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage
Personal Protection Insurance Benefits cover the insured and the insured's passengers for medical expenses and work loss. Insurance companies are required to put forward medical benefits between $1,750 and $5,000 per person and work loss benefits of 85 percent of wages for 3 years, without exceeding $1,000 per month.

Restrictions on Tort Liability
Michigan having a No-Fault statute, an injured person cannot sue for pain and suffering unless the injury leads to death, grave harm of bodily function, or everlasting, severe defacement. Whether an injury rises to the level of a "serious impairment of bodily function" or a "permanent, serious disfigurement", as put down in the said statute, is for a judge to decide.

Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Michigan does not have a statute concerning UM/UIM coverage.

Particular Rules for Motorcyclists
Insurance companies are required to provide motorcycle owners first-party reimbursements in $5,000 augmentations.

Contact the Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Services
Part of the Michigan Department of Labor & Economic Growth (DLEG), the Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Services (OFIS) supplies information on financial institutions, insurance, and securities. It is primarily fee-funded, requiring nominal public tax dollars for its regulatory and consumer support functions.

Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Services
Ottawa Building, 3rd Floor
611 W. Ottawa
Lansing, MI 48933-1070