Compare Insurance Rates & Save

Georgia Insurance (GA )

Georgia Car Insurance Requirements
Georgia requires all drivers to have accident liability insurance for each vehicle they own. The compulsory insurance will help cover medical payments for those injured in an accident, as also provide compensations for damage to property such as vehicles or buildings.

The minimum amounts that you have to be covered with for satisfying the law are:
  • $25,000 per person for physical injury
  • $50,000 per accident for physical injury to two or more people
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage
You run the risk of undergoing strict consequences and your vehicle registration is liable to be suspended if your insurance policy lapses or is called off. The state defines the word "lapse" as absence of continuous coverage for 10 or more days on the trot.

If your coverage lapses, you will be fined a $25 lapse fee and a $60 reinstatement fee before you can restore your license plates. Driving a vehicle with a suspended registration being an offense, you are liable to bear the brunt of added penalties, fines, or even duress if you are held by law enforcement without insurance coverage.

For second- and third-time insurance offenders, the penalties and fees swell. For the third offense, you will be required to pay a $25 lapse fee and a $160 reinstatement fee, and your vehicle's registration will be suspended for six months. If you are found guilty of driving the car in this period, even more ruthless punishments lie in store for you.

Georgia Insurance -- Life and Health Division
The Life and Health Division is authorized to and responsible for solving both procedural and practical problems in the management of insurers through supervision of life and health insurance policy contracts in Georgia. The division's job profile include, but are not restricted to: scrutiny of life and health policy forms to settle on observance of appropriate insurance laws, rules and regulations; censure of policy forms that have contradictory, confusing, disingenuous, unrepresentative, unreasonable, or unjust provisions; evaluation and endorsement of latest or modified premium rates for particular types of health or credit insurance products, in conformity with law or regulations; appraisal and sanction of direct-response insurance advertisements for general life or health products and advertisements for Long Term Care and Medicare Supplement Insurance as requisite by law or regulations; and licensure of private agents who execute operation review activities associated to health benefit plans covering Georgia residents.

Georgia Insurance -- Property and Casualty Division
The prime duty of the Property and Casualty Division is to guarantee that all property and casualty insurance rates, rules, and forms used in Georgia meet the terms put down under state law. All property and casualty insurers licensed to function in Georgia are under the obligation to file all their premium rates, countersigning rules, and policy forms with the Property and Casualty Division. Every year the Georgia Insurance Property and Casualty Division receives an average of 500 rate and rule filings per month from insurance companies, self-insured trust funds, or rating organizations. Rate filings are assessed to verify if they meet Georgia's legal standards keeping out rates that are disproportionate, insufficient, or unjustly prejudiced.

Contact the Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
Georgia Department of Insurance
Two Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive
West Tower, Suite 704
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Main Telephone: 404-656-2070
Toll Free: 800-656-2298
Fax: 404-657-8542